Experience Kriya: BALANCE Set

The Balance Kriya Set harmonizes the flow of your energy to help center you. These kriyas unify heart and mind and access a sense of balance within.  

You can practice these sets at any point during your day, and you can practice them over and over again. One of the best ways to experience the full impact is to practice one or two individual kriyas for 21 or 40 days consecutively. You will notice many subtle differences, often feeling more cheerful and energetic. If you use your Kriya Set in this way, it is best to pick a time of day and practice at that time consistently. Morning is ideal, as it is often easier to commit to your practice before anything else has impacted your schedule, but really any time is a good time for kriya! You may also want to use the Kriya Set or just one kriya individually as an entry into silent meditation.

How to approach the Kriyas

My invitation to you is to practice this set with your whole heart, with a sense of curiosity and without expectation. There is a brief introduction to each kriya's purpose, but I think as you practice them you will begin to experience their impact and understand the kriya's purpose for yourself.

Know that there is no "right" or "wrong" experience to have when you practice. Approach each practice as a blank slate. Know that you may have a slightly different experience with each kriya than you had the time before. You may drop into the practice easily one time and it may be a bit more difficult the next time, but stay with your practice. Notice your mind settling, your energy shifting, and your overall feeling at the end of each set and don't judge it. Allow yourself to have the experience. 

It can be a little intimidating at first to do something new, such as chanting or specific breath work, but the more you do it, the more comfortable you will become and the deeper you will dive into your experience. Please reach out with any questions or for further explanation. I am here to support you.

Sending love, 

Lam-Vam-Ram: 5 minutes 48 seconds

This is a wonderful practice to do to ground yourself.  We chant the bija mantras of the first three chakras: Lam, Vam, Ram. Bija mantras are seed sounds -- they hold no real meaning. The sound is made to connect to the vibration or energetic quality of the bija. As you chant, will begin to feel the energy shift. 

Balance: 7 minutes 21 seconds

This set starts with Alternate Nostril Breathing. It's a calming breath that balances your energy. We move to Shiva-Shakti kriya. The intention of this kriya is to unify the heart and mind. It stills a restless mind and balances the sun and moon channels of the energetic body. Shiva represents the right, the sun, the masculine channel. Shakti represents the left, the moon, and the feminine channel.  

Prana Vayu Kriya: 8 minutes 41 seconds

The Prana Vayu kriya is a subtle, meditative kriya to balance energy. Prana is life force energy and is divided into five vayus, or winds. They are prana (with a small p), apana, udana, vyana, and samana. The vayus govern different functions of the body -- such as inspiration, elimination, and expression, just to name a few. Each one has a different energetic quality in the body and impacts energy in a different way. This meditative kriya is a great way to calm, center and balance energy, aligning and distributing energy equally throughout the body. It is wonderfully soothing to do at night prior to a silent meditation or bedtime.